Giant Butt-Kicking Novel Writing Post by Maggie Stiefvater…

August 12, 2009

Most excellent post by Maggie Stiefvater, The Giant Butt-Kicking How to Write a Novel Post (which I thought had come via Justine Larbalestier but I may be wrong about that).

In answer to the question of “How do I write a book?” Stiefvater  replies:

1 – You decide to.
2- Butt in Chair.

Ah, simplicity, but more complicated than can be imagined.  It takes a lot of doing to get your butt in the chair.  (For no apparent reason I’m reminded of the quote by Rudolph Erich Rascoe, “What no wife of a writer can ever understand is that a writer is working when he’s staring out the window.”)

But back to Maggie Stiefvater’s post, and this little gem  (I love it when a lot of words boil down to a small handful):

Time is not what you need. Intention is what you need.

How very Zen.  I think I’m posting that on my wall.

And there was also this: I highly suggest you shut down the internet now and get started.

But before you pull the plug, go read Maggie’s post.

Leave a Reply

