James Whitmore, 1921 – 2009

February 7, 2009

Actor James Whitmore has died.  I always liked him as an actor, but it was his one-man shows as Harry Truman and Will Rogers that I especially loved.  I never saw his portrayal of Teddy Roosevelt that is always mentioned with the other two, but I bet it was just as good.

I recorded the first two one-man shows as audio only from television years and years ago when they were on.

I still have the cassettes of the Harry Truman show, and they’re a hoot to listen to periodically.

I don’t know if the shows are out on DVD, but if they ever do make it to DVD – or if you can get the audio recordings from your library, or purchase them – do so.  They’re fabulous.

One Response to “James Whitmore, 1921 – 2009”

  1. karl anglin Says:

    Great performance in the Twilight Zone episode
    “On Thursday We Leave For Home”
    RIP Mr. Whitmore.


Leave a Reply

