Quiet and Unquiet

August 21, 2008

Things have been rather quiet and unquiet here.  I won’t go into the unquiet much. After a while, excessive mental processing becomes boring.

kayleigh and I are waiting for one of if not our favorite science fiction convention,  Context.  Impatiently.

I’ve read Bujold’s The Curse of Chalion and Paladin of Souls, both very good books.  Though Paladin won the Hugo and Nebula, I preferred Curse, mainly because the main character didn’t whine as much, or perhaps, the whining was easier swallowed due to his more interesting character.  So much for my literary criticism.

John Scalzi and Tobias Buckell (members of the Ohio Science Fiction Writers Cabal) have their respective Zoe’s Tale and Sly Mongoose now out, both of which await on my shelf.  Go buy, now!  I’m figuring on reading Sly Mongoose next, before Context, but I’ve also made myself a promise  to not read another book until I get some of my own short stories out, a promise I’ve been sticking to.  Nothing like a carrot and a stick to beat yourself with.  Luckily, I should have a few things in circulation shortly, for the first time in a long time.

The paying job is relocating to another area of town.  Ah, the joys of moving a business in winter to a taxed,  congested, high-traffic area chosen by a corporate lacky who lives halfway across the country, without speaking to the employees who actually live, drive, and work here.

2 Responses to “Quiet and Unquiet”


  1. I seem to get around to the award-winners and the books everyone is talking about years later. My most recent SFnal reading was Octavia Butler’s Kindred (see what I mean?), Orson Scot Card’s Empire. Lots of mysteries and biographies before those.

    It’s time to write some new SF short stories–if only to balance the fact that Orson Scott Card wrote the Foreword for my new non-fiction book.
    –Mike

  2. Khozyain Says:

    Ah, Michael, you really need to read some Scalzi & Buckell! Not many authors can seriously handle an opening chapter where a man kills an alien with a fart, as in Scalzi’s “The Android’s Dream.” Classic SF that. But judging from your productivity, I can understand you not having *time* to read. And yes, it’s time for you to write some more SF! – K.


Leave a Reply

