Reply all, or no reply at all …

May 11, 2008

It’s not that I’ve given up on Simple Space. It’s just that I really don’t have much to say at the moment. I’ve been posting a couple of pictures, a few quotes and videos over at the Annex. I’ll try to toss a few words over here.

It’s strange sometimes to get email from my uncle that has my cousin’s email address on it, the one who hasn’t spoken to me in over 10 years. I could drop a note to my cousin at any time, or he to me – but neither one of us does.

My uncle sent an email last night reminding family members about the yearly Memorial Day cook out. Attendance has been waning in recent years, he said, and he’s hoping to get us all together again. I’ve not been in years myself, and instead go to Marcon that weekend. And I’ll do the same this year.

But strangely, it’s almost as if I should use the dreaded “reply all” function and tell my uncle, and by default, my cousin, that I won’t be there again this year, so that my cousin might bring his family down to the cook out. My cousin hasn’t been to any family function in years and years, whether it be Thanksgiving, Christmas, or any cook out during the summer. I honestly think he’s dropped out of family events to avoid the possibility of running into me. Maybe that’s ego talking but I know, or knew, my cousin quite well. The rest of the family has commented for years on his disappearance from family events. When my cousin tossed me to the wind, it’s as if he tossed the rest of the family, which isn’t fair to anyone.

As I’ve said before about the demise of our friendship, I’m angry about it sometimes. Other times, immensely sad.

Leave a Reply

