Crybaby rant …

November 22, 2007

I certainly botched my first attempt at NaNoWriMo and am sorely disappointed with myself. I won’t bother embarrassing myself with the total word count, except to say it was less than half of the 50,000 goal. I can rationalize the failure with things like being sick, planning a 50th anniversary dinner, the holidays, and other more personal issues.

But then, being able to rationalize it away is also disappointing. Good grief.

The 50th anniversary went off fine though, except for not being given dessert at the restaurant, a source of complaint from one annoying relative. After I paid the bill I went home and collapsed into an exhausted, yet still-coughing jag.

Now the holiday season has arrived in all of it’s capitalistic, soon-to-be stressful and depressive fury. Struggling to find cash, struggling to find gifts for family, and the idea of buying presents for children who do not appreciate it or even say thank you, is annoying. Just as overwhelming is the panicked purchases of hopelessly inadequate gifts for my parents, who can buy whatever they want and don’t need anything.

I’ve become such an angst-ridden whiner the last month or two. I really need to get over it. And I will.

On the upside, an advertising flyer for next year’s Conglomeration. Something to look forward to 🙂

Leave a Reply

