Madeleine L’Engle & A Wrinkle in Time

September 7, 2007

Publisher’s Weekly reports that Madeleine L’Engle, best known for the Newberry Award winning A Wrinkle in Time, has passed away at the age of 88.

Coincidentally, I was thinking about L’Engle and A Wrinkle in Time the other day, remembering the effect it had on me, and how it was probably one of the very first books to get me interested in fantasy. (Robert Silverberg’s Revolt on Alpha C got me interested in science fiction very early on.) I remember looking at the book for months at the school library before I finally got the nerve to ask the librarian if I could take it home. It had been on “the higher shelf,” meaning that in my grade at the time, I wasn’t supposed to be allowed to check it out. Luckily, the librarian was a smart woman 😉

I also vaguely remember reading a few of L’Engle’s other works, and specifically one she wrote about her own writing years later (or maybe it was an essay in a book on writing) but damned if I can remember what it was.

Link to the NY Times obit.

Leave a Reply

