CDs turn 25 …

August 17, 2007

The compact disk turns 25.

I loved compact disks when they first came out. I still do, preferring to hold the physical entity in my hand in this age of downloaded iTunes (though I do end up ripping them to iTunes!). The only thing I really mourned was the loss of good album cover art. Sound quality and the high-tech science-fiction geekiness of it all made up for the loss of the Roger Dean “Yes” album covers though. My first CD player was a well-researched Sony 5-disk carousel unit that I bought from Swallen’s, a local pre-Best Buy, pre-Circuit City electronics mecca, now long gone.

But 25 years already? I just felt some more grey hairs sprout. Not that I’m sprouting hardly any other color these days. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

