I was never perfect…

May 11, 2004

Several weeks ago I helped my daughter move some furniture into the house she and her boyfriend are renting. I hope things go well for them, but it’s still so very hard to think of my daughter with a black man, with two mixed-race children. Is this wrong? I'm sure it is, but how to shake the idea? My daughter is a hell of a girl though, a single mother and two kids, a full-time job and now going to a tech school for drafting and design.

I miss the little girl she was to me, when I could do no wrong and she loved me like a little girl loves her daddy, without question. But I guess the questions came a long time ago and she misses the father I once was, too. I was never perfect, but I perfectly loved her.

Leave a Reply

